Home Canada News Europe Travel 2024: New ETIAS Requirements for Canadian Citizens Explained

Europe Travel 2024: New ETIAS Requirements for Canadian Citizens Explained

by Immigration Team
0 comment
New ETIAS Requirements

Beginning in 2024, the rules for Canadians travelling to the Schengen Zone in Europe will change. While presently, Canadians are able to travel to the Schengen Zone without requiring a visa or any other type of prior approval, the introduction of the ETIAS (European Travel Information and Authorization System) will necessitate an online approval process.

Presently, Canadians enjoy the freedom of travelling to the countries in the Schengen Zone without needing a visa or any form of prior authorization. This privilege extends to short-term visits encompassing a variety of purposes, such as leisurely tourism, business dealings, transit, family reunions, and medical assistance. However, starting from 2024, the introduction of ETIAS will modify these regulations, requiring Canadians to obtain online authorization before their European travel.

The ETIAS initiative echoes the operational logic of the United States’ ESTA (Electronic System For Travel Authorization), aiming to enhance security measures by maintaining a record of travelers entering and leaving the Schengen area. However, travelers should note that ETIAS is not a visa. It’s a straightforward and simple security procedure, designed to ensure safe and regulated travel across Europe.

Applying for ETIAS will be an uncomplicated process. Prospective travelers will need to complete an online application form, a task that should only take a few minutes of their time. Once granted, the ETIAS authorization will remain valid for three years, easing the journey for frequent travelers.

The implementation of the ETIAS requirement will influence Canadian travel to a total of 30 countries in the European continent. The list includes Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

Furthermore, the ETIAS will also be a requirement for Canadians planning to visit the European microstates with open borders, namely Monaco (accessible via France), San Marino (accessible via Italy), and Vatican City (accessible via Italy). Despite their small size, these microstates are subject to the same travel regulations as the larger Schengen Zone countries.

This upcoming change is part of a broader initiative to enhance security across Europe. While it may add an extra step for Canadians planning to visit the Schengen Zone, the simple and swift online procedure for ETIAS authorization promises to maintain the ease of travel for Canadian tourists and business people alike.

About Author

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Immigration 2 Canada is the your trusted source for latest news and updates on Immigration Canada

Immigration 2 Canada. All Right Reserved.